Millbrook Chapel’s congregation began as an Aiken Sunday School class in 1874. Ten years later, in 1884, the group organized as Millbrook Baptist Church; it built this charming sanctuary in 1886.
Aiken developed a reputation as a popular winter resort in the late nineteenth century and the early twentieth centuries. As the city’s population grew, Millbrook Baptist Church was enlarged in 1909. Eventually Millbrook needed an addition, which was built in 1952, and within ten years an entirely new church was built on abutting property to accommodate the ever-increasing congregation. The original sanctuary, shown here, has served as the chapel for Millbrook Baptist Church since 1962.
Leave a Reply