Rural Shulerville nestled within the Francis Marion National Forest is home to this abandoned church in Berkeley County. Though this building was constructed in 1941, the first sanctuary built on this site was a Methodist church made of logs in 1828. Now surrounded solely by forest, the church site was once part of a community comprised of several families. The first church belonged to the Cooper River Circuit, a Methodist preaching circuit, along with seven or eight other congregations. A school added at some point by Methodists also sat on adjacent property before being torn down in 1949.
As membership declined with the gradual loss of the population in this rural area during the 1840s, the church became dormant. As a result, the church was dropped by the Methodist conference. However, in 1847 a new church was built a mile from the original site, called Dawn of Hope.
It flourished until the advent of the Civil War, when that church was abandoned due to lack of members. A house of worship in this vicinity was revitalized in 1875 by Reverend H.G. Gantt, who built a new church on the original site and gave it the name Halfway Creek Church for the creek that runs near it.
By 1901 the church was once again vacant until it was deeded to Esaw, or Enon Baptist Church, in 1906. As that church declined through subsequent decades, the building was eventually torn down. In 1941 the property came under the stewardship of New Wappetaw Presbyterian Church in McClellanville, who built this structure for rural residents.
Interestingly, the foundation sits upon wooden piers. In 2005 New Wappetaw Presbyterian transferred control of the building to Bethany Pentecostal Holiness Church, who still owns the empty church and surrounding property.
Aerial Views of Halfway Creek Church