Commonly called White Gables, this Victorian home was built around 1897 in McClellanville by Wade Hampton Graham. Graham was a mail deliverer in the fishing village and also partners in the Bulls Bay Canning Company with his bother, T.W. Graham, namesake of the town’s iconic seafood restaurant. Graham built the home for his first wife, Lilla. Following her death, Graham married Sarah Jane Stanland, who ran a boarding house from the home. In fact, the home is also sometimes referred to as the Sarah J. Stanland Graham House. Today the house is a private residence.
The Wade Hampton Graham House is listed in the National Register as the Sarah J. Stanland Graham House in the McClellanville Historic District:
The McClellanville Historic District contains a collection of approximately 105 residential, commercial, religious and educational properties dating from ca. 1860 to ca. 1935. This collection is architecturally significant as an illustration of the founding of a pineland resort village and its development into a small but stable year-round commercial fishing village. McClellanville begin in the late 1850s as a summer retreat for St. James Santee and Georgetown planters. The prevailing vernacular forms, especially the central hall farmhouse, predominated in early McClellanville architecture, although the more fashionable architectural styles began to receive attention and can be seen throughout the town: Carpenter Gothic, Queen Anne, and Italianate with a rare Colonial Revival example. The commercial strip developed in the early 20th century and are of frame construction built directly on the road. The historic district is visually unified by the nearly ubiquitous wooden frame construction, by the consistent scale of the house, lots, and their relation to the banks of the creek, by the tremendous live oak trees that permeate the town, and by the relative absence of contemporary commercial intrusions.
Leave a Reply