Gibson Pond Park — Lexington, South Carolina
SC Picture Project | Lexington County | Gibson Pond Park
This swimming hole in historic Gibson Pond Park was long a favorite among Lexington County residents, helping them escape the hot South Carolina summers for nearly 40 years.
Formerly known as George’s Pond, this property was purchased in 1934 by Murray Gibson and transformed into a popular recreation area. In addition to the diving platform pictured above, Gibson also added a pavilion, picnic tables, and rental cabins.
The park closed in 1972 but was reopened to the public in 2007 with several major additions including a scenic overlook, which provides a unique view of a waterfall rushing over an old gristmill. It is now operated by the Town of Lexington and includes a large picnic shelter, a paved trail, restrooms, and a fishing pier (swimming is no longer allowed).
On October 4, 2015, South Carolina was devastated by massive flooding throughout the state. During this flood, the pond’s dam broke, causing the water to release and flood the area below it, including the mill pond and the old textile mill complex. The Town of Lexington worked to rebuild the dam, refill the pond, and reopen the site to the public. The park remained under renovation and closed to the public for a little over two years. Damages from the flood can be seen above. As of early 2018, the park has undergone renovations and is reopened to the public.
Gibson Pond Park Info
Address: 241 Gibson Road, Lexington, SC 29072
GPS Coordinates: 33.97018,-81.24432